Convocation Celebrates Northwestern Pritzker Law Class of 2022


Student Experience Students Visitors

On Friday, May 13, 713 graduates from 42 places around the globe joined faculty, family, and friends for the Northwestern Pritzker School of Law’s 2022 convocation ceremony at the Chicago Theatre.

Presiding over the ceremony, Dean Hari Osofsky welcomed the graduates to the Northwestern Pritzker Law alumni community. “This would be a major achievement at any time, and these graduates have done so while facing major challenges,” she said. “The Class of 2022 has shown resiliency, support for one another, and leadership that has made such a difference. We are so proud and it is with great pleasure that we celebrate and recognize our amazing graduates.”

Marie Oh Huber (JD ‘86), Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Officer of eBay Inc., delivered the keynote address. She is a C-suite level leader with strategic business, legal, and public policy experience in three global Fortune 500 technology, internet, ecommerce and life sciences companies.  In her speech, Huber spoke of the importance of trust, resilience, and courage. “I have come across many situations in my career that nothing in law school prepared me for,” Huber said. “That’s where courage comes in. It might mean sharing your story when you are also feeling scared and vulnerable, to help create a safe place for others to do so.”

Marie Oh Huber (JD ‘86), Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Officer of eBay Inc.

Before joining eBay, Huber served as SVP and General Counsel at Agilent Technologies, where she was responsible for global legal and government affairs, communications, regulatory/quality, and philanthropy. She is a board member of Portland General Electric (NYSE) and Adevinta ASA (ADE.OL), the largest global online classifieds company. In addition to her operating role, she also serves on the University Council at Yale, the board of the Leadership Council on Legal Diversity, the Northwestern Law Board, and recently served on the board of the Silicon Valley Community Foundation.

In addition to Huber, student speakers Naomi Duru (JD ’22), Cristiana Gonzalez Duarte (LLM ’22), and Rory Fitzpatrick (MSL ’22) addressed their fellow graduates. Dean of Students Susie Spies Roth (BA ’01, JD ’06) concluded the ceremony.

During the ceremony, faculty and student awards were presented.

Former Student Bar Association president Varun Kumar Lella (JD ’22) presented the following teaching awards to:

Andre Fiebig, Outstanding Adjunct Professor

Zachary Clopton, Outstanding First-Year Course Professor

Monica Llorente, Outstanding Professor of a Small Class

Paul Pencak, Robert R. Wootton Award for Teaching Excellence in the LLM Tax Program

Steve Reed, MSL Outstanding Residential Professor

Esther Barron, MSL Outstanding Online Professor

Steve Reed, Robert Childres Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence

Professor Steve Reed presented the following student awards to:

Olga Cosme Toledo, Courage Award

Vinicius Hercos da Cunha, Global Legal Profession Award

Varun Lella, Leadership Award

Marissa Jackson, Legal Profession Award

Maria Jenkins, MSL Residential Student Award

Madelynn Dowdy, MSL Online Student Award

Rodrigo Anzures-Oyorzabal, Service Award

Laura Camila Grisales Pena, Victor Rosenblum Award

Jordan Martin, Leigh B. Bienen Prize

Cate Baskin, Alvaro Cure Dominguez, Amanda Gvozden, Wafa Junaid, Kara Kurland, Kristi Lew; Lowden-Wigmore Prizes

Grace Herndon, Wigmore Key

Northwestern Pritzker Law’s 2022 graduating class includes 241 candidates for JD degrees and 25 candidates for joint JD-MBA degrees, 230 candidates for LLM degrees, 49 candidates for LLM degrees in taxation, nine candidates for LLM degrees in international human rights, and 103 candidates for MSCL degrees. Other degrees presented included 51 in the Executive LLM Programs, four candidates for Master of Studies in Law, and one SJD program candidate.

Visit the convocation page to see the full ceremony.